“The Shape of Things” An Interview with Adam Hood.

Last Tuesday night we were lucky enough to sit down with the amazing amazing Adam Hood just before his album release party here in Nashville.   We talked old friends, new music, and the road to Tennessee; and let us assure you, this guy has got what it takes.  His skills as an artist and songwriter are deeply rooted in his southern raising, providing for a sound that is unique, fresh and completely one of a kind.  Adam’s as humble as he is talented. and among his biggest fans is country superstar Miranda Lambert, who on a chance encounter, ended up at one of his shows and couldn’t get enough of him.  Since that day Adam’s been all over the music scene, from a string of dates on Willie Nelson’s Country Music Throwdown Tour, to an exclusive record deal with one of Nashville’s most respected young labels.  Now with the debut of his first major studio album release, “The Shape of Things,”  It’s safe to say things are definitely “shaping” up for this Alabama boy.

Twin Love: For those who’ve never heard your music, tell us a little about your sound.

Adam: I always say, that it’s something you would expect from Alabama. There’s a lot of country influence in it, a lot of blues in it, that’s kind of what I was raised on.  My mother was kind of a Lionel Richie fan and my dad rode bareback when I was a baby and so he’s kind of Johnny Paycheck, but you know, just typical southern music.

Twin Love: What did you listen to growing up?

Adam: I was raised with some latin and whatever was on the radio between 78 and 83 and i guess my folks but a guitar when i was around ten and I was into everyhing, that was kind of the beginning of the hair metal, Van Halen and stuff like that, I was a huge Prince fan.
Twin Love: Tell us how you got in touch with Miranda Lambert and a little about the Country Throwdown Tour:
Adam: I met Miranda when I was playing a Tuesday night show at a place called Tavern on the Green, and the night that I was playing, her mom and her Kacey Mugraves‘ car broke down and they decided they were just going to stay the night in New Braunfels and get a room and go get a beer, and I was playing.  So I played my songs and she came up to me after the set and said, “I like your music.”  I said, “thanks” and gave her a CD.  Two weeks later her mom called and said they wanted me to play a birthday party, and so I drove to Chicago and played.  Then I started opening for them and she introduced me to Frank and the guys I write for now. So a little divine intervention is the way I look at it.

Twin Love: Tell us a little about your new album:

Adam: The new album is called “The Shape of Things” The difference is, it’s kind of, a little bit more introspective of a record, you know, I kind of went back and king of reevaluated my life, I’m not on the road as much as I used to be.  We used to do like 300 shows, which was good for me because at the same time I was able to figure out what I wanted to do and what I didn’t want to do.  I wrote from a ton of songs and picked from a pile, so from a songwriter’s perspective it did a lot of I was really able to dig into how I feel about things and my attitude about things.
I also played a lot of guitar on the record and I co wrote a lot on the record.  It was like a 3 year process.  It’s been  2007 since I last put a record out.  But this one wasn’t a process of writing 10 songs and recording them, we got to pick and choose from a lot of stuff.  And I think the quality of the record is a whole lot better.

Twin Love: Who were some of your co-writes?

Adam: I wrote a lot with Pat McClaughlin, and Jason Sands.  I wrote Shape of
Things Myself.

Twin Love: What made you choose that for the title track?

Adam: I think it probably somes up everything as far as how things are with me and being my age.

Twin Love: That’s awesome we love the record, so what’s next for Adam Hood?

Adam: Just touring to promote the record.  That’s really it.

Adam’s new album has gotten RAVE reviews.  It’s as stunning as he is.  Do yourself a favor and check it out HERE!


1 comment

Leave a comment